The park offers a number of hiking trails that are suited to hiking, birding and wildflower study. A restroom, picnic tables, and gazebo are now available for visitor's use.
The Little Mahoning Creek runs through the town and provides a great location from which to launch a canoe or kayak.
Old Smicksburg Park offers a unique opportunity to tell the story of a small village that has undergone tremendous change in its time. The 35-acre park is located on property acquired in 1941 by the federal government to serve as a flood control area for Mahoning Dam, located 11 miles downstream of the village.
The acquisition of the property by the federal government resulted in the loss of two-thirds of the town. Twenty-two buildings were lost including several fine homes, the Lutheran Church, three cemeteries, the grist mill, creamery, telephone exchange, gas station, and the school house.
The town was originally established in 1827 on a plan of lots laid out by Rev. John George Schmick and others. From 1827 until 1940 Smicksburg was a thriving community and business center in northern Indiana County.
The establishment of Old Smicksburg Parkplates from the 1990's when the Smicksburg Area Heritage Society (SAHS), under the direction of Rev. Tim Spence, initiated efforts to establish a community park and historical site,
Since 2000 the SAHS has served as the caretaker and manager of the park. In 2010 the park's management was transferred to Indiana County Parks & Trails. Management of the park is a cooperative partnership of Smicksburg Borough, the SAHS, Indiana County Parks & Trails, and the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers.
The story of Smicksburg's founding, early growth, unfortunate decline, and eventual transition as a popular tourist destination is a compelling one.